TL;DR
Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The Good Trade published a 2026 guide to 11 online shopping sites it recommends as alternatives to large general marketplaces. Its list covers categories including gifts, groceries, home essentials and beauty, but the supplied source material details only five of the 11 entries.
The Good Trade has published a 2026 guide to 11 websites for ethical shopping, recommending online marketplaces that it says curate products around considerations such as fair labor, sustainability and social responsibility. The guide is intended to offer alternatives to large general retailers, though the available source material describes only five of the 11 listed sites.
The publication says its editors researched marketplaces offering a range of goods, from fair-trade clothing and sustainable home products to organic skin care. It describes the sites as places where shoppers can find products selected according to each platform’s stated values, rather than searching across a broad, unfiltered retail catalog. The guide does not provide a common scoring system or a direct comparison of the companies’ performance.
The five entries included in the supplied material are Uncommon Goods, presented as a gift marketplace featuring goods from artisans and craftspeople; Shop, described as a platform for discovering brands and tracking purchases; and Thrive Market, which focuses on pantry goods and other products. The list also features Grove Collaborative for home essentials and Credo for beauty products.
The Good Trade attaches different labels to the sites, including B Corp, cruelty-free, recycled materials, organic and give-back initiatives. These are presented as attributes of particular retailers, not as a single certification shared by all 11. The supplied text identifies Thrive Market and Grove Collaborative as offering subscriptions, and describes Grove as offering one-time orders as well.
How the List Guides Ethical Shopping
The guide matters to readers because evaluating labor, sourcing and environmental claims across many retailers can take time. A curated list may help shoppers narrow their search by category and by the values a retailer says it follows. The examples span food, home goods, gifts and beauty, making the roundup relevant to more than one kind of purchase.
That convenience does not, by itself, establish that every product on a listed site meets the same standard or that a purchase produces a particular social or environmental outcome. Readers may still want to check product-level sourcing information, shipping policies, subscription terms and what each label means. The article is a shopping guide, not an independent audit of the companies it features.
The Good Trade also discloses that it may earn commissions when readers buy through some links. That disclosure gives readers relevant information about the publication’s business model as they weigh its recommendations.
organic skincare products cruelty-free
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The Good Trade’s Selection Approach
The publication frames the list as a response to shoppers looking for alternatives to mega-retailers such as Amazon. It says those retailers have faced criticism related to environmental impact, labor practices and market dominance; that is the publication’s rationale for the guide, rather than a finding newly established by this roundup.
According to The Good Trade, its editors selected marketplaces for their sustainable practices and product ranges, and say many are certified B Corps. The article also says the publication’s editors research, test and personally like products they endorse. The source material does not explain how each marketplace was evaluated, how the 11 were ranked, or whether the list is exhaustive.
““We’ve researched the best alternatives to online marketplaces like Amazon.””
— The Good Trade
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
What the Supplied List Does Not Show
The source material provided for this article ends after the entry for Credo, although the headline refers to 11 websites. The other six entries, their descriptions and any selection notes are not available here, so they cannot be identified or assessed from the supplied text. The publication date is also not stated.
There is no shared methodology or evidence in the source that independently verifies every sustainability, labor, organic or cruelty-free claim. The material does not include comparative pricing, recent performance data, or a full account of each retailer’s sourcing and shipping practices. Readers should treat the labels as descriptions reported by The Good Trade and check details with each seller before purchasing.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check the Full Guide and Retailer Details
The Good Trade’s complete article is the place to consult for the full set of 11 recommendations and any additional retailer descriptions. Before buying, shoppers can review the seller’s current product information, relevant certifications, return and subscription terms, and delivery practices. The source material does not announce a follow-up report, a ranking update or a date for further changes to the list.
eco-friendly pantry staples subscription
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is the news in this article?
The Good Trade published a 2026 guide recommending 11 websites for ethical shopping. The supplied source text provides details for five of them.
Which five websites are described in the supplied material?
The five named sites are Uncommon Goods, Shop, Thrive Market, Grove Collaborative and Credo. The material associates them respectively with gifts, brand discovery and order tracking, pantry goods, home essentials, and beauty.
Does the source establish that every product on these sites is ethical?
No. The guide describes retailer values and selected labels, but the supplied material does not provide an independent audit of every company or product. Shoppers can check product-level sourcing and certification details directly.
Does The Good Trade earn money from the recommendations?
The publication says it may earn a commission when readers buy products or services through some links. It does not specify in the supplied text which links generate commissions.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
